SL55 AMG, SL63 AMG, SL65 AMG (R230) 2002 - 2011 (2003 US for SL55 and 2004 for the SL65)

SL55/63/65/R230 AMG: Checking the oil?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-29-2004, 08:12 PM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Checking the oil?

We just took delivery of a brilliant silver/charcoal SL55 this past Friday. Let me say both my wife and I are very impressed with the car. It really lets you have your cake and eat it too.

Im new to the world of Mercs though and I was wondering what is the best method of checking the engine oil. The owners manual wants me to use the multi information display system- and given that I have under 120 miles on the car Im not worried right now about low oil, but I know its a good practice to check, especially with a new car. I looked for a dipstick in the engine, but I cant find one!

Also, I like to drive around with a spare quart of oil, Ive checked the manuals and they indicate either 5w30 or 0w40. What do you guys prefer? I have a few quarts of 5w30 synthetic in my garage as other cars use this so its easier, but I want to make sure I treat the engine right.

Its quite a machine.

Best Regards,
Jerry
Old 08-29-2004, 09:45 PM

2003 SL55 2007 S550
Look elsewhere on this forum for how to get a dipstick. Will cost you $120 from Benz. For an 03 SL55, the proper amount of oil is 170 mm on their calibrated tool. The S55 has a dipstick, weird. In Northern Cali the oil used is 0 - 40 Mobil1. Used to be 15 - 50 Mobil1. Found an independent tester that experimented with many oils and they found that Mobil1 actually did survive heat better, no just hype.

Found my old post. Some details....

It's called "the tool" or "the measuring stick"
Part # (W)120-589-07-21-00 (W doesn't always show up, depends on source).
Price through the dealer was $120 (ouch! for a dipstick!)
It is a thin metal rod with a handle and mm calibrations, looks
like a dipstick.

I was told that....

.. for my 2003 SL55 the engine number is 113.992